A Christmas Change

This will be the Christmas. Mrs. Claus awakens with confidence. The Christmas where I will no longer sit at the pole watching him do all the work. I will help with the delivery this year. But first, I’ll propose to help prepare for it. Though, I’ve never done this before, I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it. She smiles. I’ll be a great help for this Christmas and others to come.

pizap.com14515196023891

*****

With her spirits high, Mrs. Claus walks next door to Santa’s Workshop. Upon entering her husband’s study, she sees Chuck, the elf, giving him a list. “There are a thousand more good children this year than last year, sir.”

pizap.com14515197199022

“A thousand more?” Saint Nick laughs with joy. “Boy, these children must really not want coal this year.”

“That may be the case, sir.” Chuck continues. “However, with this many children, our level of productivity must accel to make every toy on time.”

“Hmm…” he ponders,”Well see to it, but try not overwork yourselves. This is bound to be an abundant Christmas.”

“It always is, sir.” Chuck turns to leave.

“Is that my beautiful wife?” Saint Nick greets.

pizap.com14515219232564.jpg

“Did you sleep well?”

“I slept very well, Thank you. Slept even better knowing Christmas is almost here.” She excites.

“You sound more upbeat about Christmas than usual. Is there a reason for that?” He asks.

“Why, yes actually.” Starting her proposal. “You know how busy you get this time of year with all the children-“

“The Children!” He interrupts with excitement. “Did you hear? We have a thousand more good children this year. Isn’t that spectacular?”

“That is wonderful, Nick.” She states. “Which means there has to be more effort put into this year.”

“Oh yes, but I know me and the elves can do it, like we have every other year.” He sits at his desk. “Which means I must get back to work immediately. This list isn’t going to check itself. Can my lovely wife bake me her most famous, chocolate chip cookies? I’ve been yearning for them since I’ve awakened.”

“Of course I can, Nick.” She says. I guess it will have to wait. She thinks, putting off her proposal.

*****

An hour later, Mrs. Claus returns baring cookies and milk. “I come with goodies for Saint Nick.”

pizap.com14515486840361.jpg

“Just what I needed to get through this list.” He bites into the chewy delicate. “Delicious. Thank you, my wife.”

“You are always welcome.” She says. “But you know I could do other things then just bake cookies, Nicholas.”

“Is that right?” He asks.

“Yes, I could-“

“Come quick, Sir!” An elf interrupts in a panic. “The reindeer stopped moving.”

pizap.com14515287313785

“They stopped moving?” Santa exclaims, “I must check this out. We can talk more when I get back.” and rushes out the study.

“I’ll be right here.” She plops into his chair. I’ll just ask him when he gets back.

But as every hour goes by, so does her confidence, until she fell into a deep sleep.

*****

Mrs. Claus awakens under a soft blanket.

I must have fallen asleep. Where’s Nicholas? 

While her eyes analyze the room, she discovers a note on the desk:

Dear My Lovely Wife, 

I am on an urgent mission to find medicine. It seems that the reindeer have contracted an illness. Don’t be worried about how this may affect Christmas this year. It’s just a minor setback and by the time Christmas rolls around everything will be set. I have Chuck in charge looking over the operations. I’ll be back soon. 

                                                                       Love Your Jolly Husband,

                                                                                                             Nicholas Claus

Mrs. Claus rereads the letter, feeling her heart cave after each word she passes until Chuck interrupts. “Good morning, Mrs. Claus. I see you’ve gotten Saint Nicholas’s letter.”

“Oh yes, I got it.” She says. “It doesn’t specify when he’ll return. Do you know?”

“I do not, Mrs. Claus.” He says. “But I am sure it will be within 3 days. Those reindeer have to get well soon for Christmas.”

“Well you are right about that,” putting down the letter in disappointment.

“Is everything alright, Mrs. Claus?” He asks.

“Oh yes, dear,” forcing a smile, “Just worried about the reindeer as all.”

“You don’t have to worry about that.” Chuck assures. “We have everything handled.”

“I have no doubts.” She says, allowing him to leave the study.

Come back soon, Nick. She sighs.

*****

Chuck was right, within 3 days Saint Nicholas returned to his study checking the list with Mrs. Claus attempting to ask him once more. “Hello Nicholas, how’s the list?”

pizap.com14515568348913

“Merry. It keeps growing,” putting down the list. “But didn’t you need to tell me something?”

Mrs. Claus perks up. This is my chance. “Why, yes I did. I wanted to tell you that I know how busy it is this time of year and if you needed another hand, that I’m available. I could help with the rest of this list, check-“

He holds up his hand to stop her. “That won’t be necessary. Despite the workload increase, we have everything under control. My lovely wife shouldn’t have to deal with the stress of this job. I just want you to relax and be merry.”

Hearing those words, destroys her withered hope. “Why, I guess your right,” turning to leave. “I’ll leave you to your list then.”

“Make sure my wife comes back to visit me,” going back to his list.

“I’ll be sure to.” She whispers, departing into the cold air. I’m of no use after all.

12-31-15_4-16-02 AM

*****

It’s finally Christmas eve with everything set and ready to go. Standing by his sleigh waiting for departure, he senses something missing from this self-fulfilled moment.

“Have you seen, Mrs. Claus?” He asks Chuck.

“No.” Chuck answers. “As a matter of fact, she hasn’t been around lately after your 2 day trip.”

 I’ve been so caught up with my work that I haven’t even noticed. Saint Nick thinks.”I’ll be back, Chuck.”

“Sir, I don’t think that’s a good idea. You’re set to depart in 5 minutes. You’ll be behind schedule if you leave any later.” Chuck warns.

“Even if I’m behind, every child in the world will get their present.” He walks to his house to see his wife sitting by the light. “Hello, my wife.”

pizap.com14515577111805

“Oh, hey Nick.” She turns around,”I didn’t hear you come in. Would you like some more cookies?” then heads for the kitchen.

“No, that won’t be necessary.” He says. “I noticed you weren’t out there to see me off and then I heard you haven’t been coming around the workshop lately.”

“Is it Christmas eve already? Seems I had lost track of the days.” She giggles.

“It seems you had.” He states. “But I was wondering if everything was ok?”

“To be truthful, everything is not and it hasn’t been.” She confesses. “Every year I watch you take this big workload of checking the million names of children, looking after the elves and reindeer, and delivering presents. It’s hard watching you do everything by yourself year after year. So I decided this Christmas would be different. You won’t have to do it alone anymore, that I could help, but when I proposed it, you dismissed it, saying I should just rest and be merry.”

“My lovely wife, I don’t want you to be involved in this work.” He says. “It is stressful and if you don’t have high spirits, it can get overwhelming.”

“Don’t you think I can handle it?” She asks. “I am Mrs. Claus. Santa Claus’s wife. I am just as strong as you are. I could do it, if you just gave me a chance. We are a Team. I didn’t marry you to sit back and bake you cookies. I married you because I wanted to be apart of this, apart of who you are.”

pizap.com14515577980436

He never knew his wife felt this strongly about Christmas. Staring into her eyes, he realized she was right, and this is the reason why he married her. Why she is his, Mrs. Claus.

Before he could utter another word, Chuck comes in frustration. “I’m sorry for the intrusion but you are 15 minutes behind schedule. Please hurry for your departure.”

That’s when he knew the magical words that changed their Christmases forever, “My wife, with your smile so bright, would you ride on my sleigh tonight?”

pizap.com14515579244217

“Oh, do you mean it, Nick?” She smiles.

“As long as I’m still called Santa Claus?” He laughs.

She hugs him with glee. “Let me change into something more fitting.”

“Looks like we’ll be an hour behind schedule.” Chuck grumbles to himself.

*****

Saint Nicholas stands near the sleigh smiling at his wife’s entranced beauty.

pizap.com14515966819911

“Are you ready, Mrs. Claus?” Taking her hand to help her onto the sleigh.

“I have been ready.” She smiles.

As they wave the elves goodbye, they take off for the towns. With the ordinary snow and the flash of Rudolph’s red light,they could feel a change that night. A change that brought them closer as husband and wife. A change during this miraculous Christmas flight.

pizap.com145160828145811.jpg


Credits:

Custom Content

Mrs. Claus’s Hair Bun: “Hair retexture / Newsea Sakura” by Miss Paraply

Mrs. Claus’s Hair Twist: “Hair retexture / EA TwistLow / 42 colors” by Miss Paraply

Mrs. Claus’s Red Robe: “Female Robe Recolours” by Julie J

Mrs. Claus’s Red Coat: “Winter Coat with Skirt” by Marigold

Mrs. Claus’s Brown/Red Dress: “Long Pleats Dress” by Marigold

Mrs. Claus’s White Sweater: “Tight Turtleneck Long Sweater” by Marigold

Mrs. Claus Red Dress: “Innocent Dress” by anoherm

Mrs. Claus Scarf: “Winter Wonder Beanie and Scarf” by Ms Blu

Chuck’s Socks: “Striped Tights for Children-Elder” by ryoohki

Elf Ears: “Altmer Elf Ears Unisex” by NotEgain

Santa Claus’s White Hair: “Sims 4 Male Hair – White Hair” by Xrinnas Sims

Santa Claus’s Beard, Glasses, and Suit: “Sims 4 Santa Claus + CC” by JomSimsCreations

Gallery

Santa Claus’s Estate: “Santa’s Workshop” by TheSimCache

Mrs. Claus: “Claus by kayote46

Santa Claus: “Claus” by gamerkylieanne

Skinny Elf: “DOBY THE FREE HOUSE ELF” by marakissu

15 thoughts on “A Christmas Change

  1. So cute! I loved your twist on Santa and Mrs. Claus’ relationship! She’s a character who I think is often overlooked. This is cute and clever! Nicely done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know what? You are so right. She is often overlooked. You never really hear anything about her. It’s always Santa Claus. lol. But Thank you so much. I’m glad you thought it was cute like me. Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, this was fun to see things from Mrs. Claus’s perspective! Such a nice twist on things! I agree with Citizen, she’s often overlooked and it’s really good to hear her side of the story for a change!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 and yeah I never realized that she is overlooked so it’s great I decided to do this story. I also didn’t acknowledge the significance of it being in her perspective. Thanks for pointing that out.
      Thanks for liking and commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this so much! Mr. and Mrs. Claus are beautiful! And I love your clever use of Sims and objects–the elves are great! And I love how you got that sleigh! (That’s one of my favorite pieces of furniture! Looks so perfect in that screenshot!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe do you really? To be honest I’m not really all that confident in this story like I have with the ones in the past. It could be because I haven’t wrote one in a few months or the story itself. But Thank you so much Cathy! They are beautiful. I love them so much. They are adorable. You know I had to put the elves in there. lol. and that screenshot is one of my favorites. It’s so beautiful.

      Thank you for liking and commenting!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, this is the cutest thing ever! I love their relationship! So wonderful. Although it did take him two days to realize something was wrong, on the plus side he didn’t put it off till he got back, even though he was running late, and went to figure it out and fix the problem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right. Just like every person should do for their significant other. I love their relationship too. They are the cutest little sims ever. Especially Mrs. Claus. Every time I was in game I was just thinking, ‘Mrs. Claus is so adorable’. Whoever made her did a wonderful job. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Thanks so much for liking and commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh! I absolutely loved how perfect everything looked in this! The Sims! The backdrops! And that picture of Santa and Mrs. Claus kissing (err, both of them!) absolutely warmed my heart on this cold winter night! (It really is quite frigid here today, heh!) That was just so adorable in every way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha… thank you so much! Seriously. I appreciate everyone who loves my screenshots. Mostly everyone does, so that makes me happy. I do put a lot into my sims when choosing them (because I don’t make them), dressing them, and waiting for the right pose with the perfect background. I spend sometimes 2 days just getting my sims ready for Screenshots (I’m a CC addict). But I’m glad you loved it so much. It brings me joy.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to like and comment! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha… thank you so much. Wasn’t it though? I myself couldn’t help but say awe this is just adorable when taking these screenshots. I loved every minute I had with these characters and taking their picture. (The only part that gave me grief was finding the perfect CC and figuring out how to dress Mrs. Claus. But I think I did a good job.)

      Thank you for liking and commenting! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

